ISN Amgen International Prize

General Information

The ISN Amgen International Prize for Therapeutic Advancement in Nephrology was established in 2003 by Amgen to recognize those who have increased the understanding and treatment of kidney disease through basic or clinical scientific research, leading to therapeutic advances.

The long term goal of the Prize is to stimulate members of the scientific and medical community throughout the world to initiate, or to augment, research that will lead to new therapeutic advances and to a treatment and cure for millions of people worldwide. It also aims to generate momentum in the field as well as public awareness about kidney disease.

The Prize recognizes individual(s) whose seminal scientific work constitutes tangible achievement toward improving the knowledge and treatment of kidney disease.

The prize of US $50,000 is awarded every two years at ISN’s World Congress of Nephrology (WCN).

Previous Winners

The 2009 prize is awared to Prof. Carl Erik Mogensen, Arhus Universty Hospital, Denmark, for his lifetime contribution to understanding diabetic nephropathy.

The 2007 prize recognizes the pioneering experimental research in mineral metabolism of Dr. Eduardo Slatopolsky, Joseph Friedman Professor of Renal Disease and Medicine at Washington University, St Louis, MO, USA. With over 400 publications in basic and clinical sciences related to mineral metabolism Slatopolsky has dedicated his entire career to the study of kidney disease with a 30 year record of major scientific achievements.

The 2005 prize was jointly awarded to Joseph W. Eschbach, MD of the University of Washington in Seattle, WA, USA and Eugene Goldwasser, PhD of the University of Chicago Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology in Chicago, IL, USA for their fundamental contributions in the identification of erythropoietin and its therapeutic use in the correction of anemia in patients with chronic kidney disease, resulting in a markedly improved quality of life.

The inaugural prize in 2003 was awarded to Barry Brenner, MD, PhD of Brigham and Women’s Hospital and Harvard University, Boston, USA, for establishing the foundations of our understanding of the progression of chronic kidney disease and its retardation by blockade of the rennin angiotensin system in experimental and clinical studies leading to major benefit to millions of patients with diabetes, hypertension, and other kidney disease.


ISN invites nominations from the renal community approximately 15 months prior to the World Congress of Nephrology (WCN).

The award of US $50,000 is made to an individual winner. A shared award for the same discovery or contribution may be given, usually to no more than two individuals.

The recipient of the prize will receive US $50,000, a commemorative crystal award and a framed certificate with an appropriate citation.

The deadline for nominations is September 1, of the year preceding the WCN.

Nominations procedure

Nominations are accepted without restriction to nationality, gender, religion or race.

A complete nomination package should include:

  1. The full name and complete contact information for the nominee(s).
  2. A formal letter of nomination that contains:
    • A statement whether the award should be made to an individual or whether it should/could be shared with other scientists who may or may not be included in the nomination.
    • A summary of the contributions of the nominee(s).
    • A description of how and why the work of the nominee(s) represents a major advance in our understanding and treatment of kidney disease through basic or clinical scientific research, and distinguishing those aspects of the work of the nominee(s) which clearly sets it apart from the work of others in the field.
  3. A full curriculum vitae and list of publications for the nominee(s).
  4. At least two letters of support for the nomination.
  5. The full name and complete contact information for the nominator(s).

Self-nominations are not accepted.

Nominations should be sent (electronically) to:

John H. Dirks, M.D.
Chair, AMGEN Prize Advisory Committee
Massey College
4 Devonshire Place
Toronto ON
Canada, M5S 2E1

Fax: +1 416 946 3302
Email: [email protected]


The AMGEN Prize Advisory Committee is appointed by the President of ISN. Its chair and members are to chosen to reflect the international field of nephrology and are responsible for the selection of the recipient(s).

The Advisory Committee submits its recommended recipient(s) for the prize to the ISN Executive Committee for formal approval approximately 6 months prior to the WCN.

The winner(s) are formally announced by ISN and the PKD Foundation 2-3 months prior to the WCN.

The awardee(s) present a keynote lecture and receive their Prize during the WCN.

Extra navigation