Acute Kidney Injury Committee

The Committee on Acute Kidney Injury represents the highest possible level of scientific investigation in acute kidney injury (AKI) and brings together nephrologists, physicians, and scientists of other relevant disciplines; they are an active component of the AKI Network.

The committee is engaged in the development of uniform standards for defining and classifying acute kidney injury (AKI) that can be used in clinical research (trials) in patients with AKI. Consensus standards for diagnosing and classifying (staging) AKI that need to be validated in future studies have been developed. 

The Committee is involved with the organisation of several educational courses and organizes its own Symposia on AKI which is typically held as a satellite symposium to the World Congress of Nephrology (WCN).

Browse the AKI educational zone in order to access relevant educational materials and articles.

Following the first AKIN conference held in Amsterdam, The Netherlands, in September 2005 the below report was developed which describes an interim definition and staging system for AKI and a plan for further activities of the collaborative network. Visit the “Acute Kidney Injury Network: report of an initiative to improve outcomes in acute kidney injury”.

committee membership (january 2008 - January 2011)

Chair: Ravindra Mehta (USA) [email protected]

Joseph Bonventre (USA)
Vipul Chitalia (USA)
Kirpal Chugh (India)
Zoltan Endre (New Zealand)
Franklin Epstein (USA)
Martha Franco (Mexico)
Stuart Goldstein (USA)
David Humes (USA)
Bruce Molitoris (USA)
George Porter (USA)
Nestor Schor (Brazil)
Seong Hooi (Malaysia)
Sever Mehmet Sukru Sever (Turkey)
William Couser (USA)
Miguel Riella (Brazil)
Claudio Ronco (Italy)
Raymond Vanholder (Belgium)

Extra navigation