Eastern & Central Europe Committee

This page contains the following sections:
General Information
Mission Statement
CME and Site Visit Reports
Special Fellowships
Committee Membership

General Information

Represented Countries:

Albania, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Macedonia, Moldova, Poland, Romania, Serbia & Montenegro, Slovakia, Turkey.


In the ISN-COMGAN News, Data and Reports section you can find a detailed overview of  all recent COMGAN activities per region which includes funded CMEs, site visits, Fellows, Renal Sister Centers and other program activities. A statistical regional breakdown of the ISN outreach activities and Fellows is also provided.

Mission Statement

The Regional Subcommittee has identified the following major obstacles to the advancement of nephrology in their respective region:

  • Lack of good medical infrastructure, partially due to inadequate links between local opinion leaders, medical societies and movers with government;
  • Lack of interest (no CME credits required in many countries); 
  • Lack of resources for local guidelines.

CME and Site Visit Reports

The below reports on CMEs & Site Visits have been submitted to ISN; in order to view the reports please click on the links.


Kaunas, Lithuania, June 12-15, Conference of 3 Baltic Societies of Nephrology (pdf, 16.4 KB)


Belgrado, Serbia, 21 February 2009, 4th Up-to-date in Nephrology (pdf, 68.5 KB)

Skopje, Macedonia, 23-25 April 2009, Diagnostic and Treatment Options in Chronic Kidney Diseases in the New Millenium (pdf, 31.3 KB)

Report on the 16th Budapest Nephrology School (pdf, 522.9 KB)

Croatia, Opatija, Joint ERA-EDTA/ ISN CME Course - Update in Clinical Nephrology, Dialysis and Transplantation, October 2009 (pdf, 740.7 KB)

Special Fellowships

ISN offers a special opportunity for young nephrologists from Turkey. Please click on the link for more information: ISN-TSN Fellowship.

Committee Membership (January 2008 - January 2011):

Chair: Adrian Covic (Romania) [email protected]
Co-Chair: Tilman Drueke (France) [email protected]
Co-Chair: Kamil Serdengecti (Turkey) [email protected]

Ioannis (John) Boletis (Greece)
Paul Gusbeth Tatomir (Romania)
Norbert Lameire (Belgium)
Istvan Mucsi (Hungary)
Milan Radovic (Serbia & Montenegro)
Ivan Rychlik (Czech Republic)
Mehmet Sukru Sever (Turkey)
Adrian Tanase (Moldova)
Goce Spasovski (Macedonia)
Evgueniy Vazelov (Bulgaria)

Extra navigation