South Asia Committee

This page contains the following sections:
General Information
Mission Statement
Articles on the Region
CME and Site Visit Reports
Committee Membership

General Information

Represented Countries:

Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka.

Mission Statement

The Regional Subcommittee has identified the following major obstacles to the advancement of nephrology in their respective region:

  • Poor education leading to inadequate awareness.
  • Financial constraints leading to poor access to health delivery. 
  • Trend human recourse which is lacking needing national organization and international support. 
  • Lack of recognition of the importance of chronic kidney disease in medical education and in the health system.
  • Lack of human resources.
  • Cost of medical devices (HD, PD).


In the ISN-COMGAN News, Data and Reports section you can find a detailed overview of  all recent COMGAN activities per region which includes funded CMEs, site visits, Fellows, Renal Sister Centers and other program activities. A statistical regional breakdown of the ISN outreach activities and Fellows is also provided.


Articles that have been published on the region, the committee and its activities include:

March 2008 Challenges in Prevention of Chronic kidney disease, Bangalore, India (pdf, 29.5 KB)

February 8-10, 28th Annual Conference of Indian Society of Nephrology- Southern Chapter, Mysore, India (pdf, 196.6 KB)

CME and Site Visit Reports

The below reports on CMEs & Site Visits have been submitted to ISN; in order to view the reports please click on the links.


Report on CME Meeting, Dhaka, Bangladesh, 12-14 December 2009 (pdf, 90.7 KB)

March 2009, ABC of homeostasis-An insight to acid base imbalance, fluid and electrolyte disorders in children - Bangalore, India (pdf, 588.5 KB)

New Delhi, India, XXII Annual Confeernce of the Indian Society of Pediatric Nephrology, 4-6 Dec 2009 (pdf, 3.8 MB)


March 2008, NUTS CONFERENCE 2008 and Site Visit to India, Kathmandu, Nepal (pdf, 22.6 KB)

Committee Membership (January 2008 - January 2011):

Chair: Georgi Abraham (India) [email protected]
Co-Chair: Jaffar Naqvi (Pakistan) [email protected]

Sudarshan Ballal (India)
George John (India)
Dimitrios Oreopoulos (Canada)
Harun Ur Rashid (Bangladesh)
S. Adibul Hasan Rizvi (Pakistan)
Rezvi Sheriff (Sri Lanka)
Sanjib Kumar Sharma (Nepal)
Suresh Sankarasubbaiyan (India)
Vipul Chitalia Chimanlal (USA)

Extra navigation