ISN Pioneer Award winner announced at ISN North and East Asia Regional Workshop Featured

Prof. Shan-yan Lin from Hua-shan Hospital at Fu-dan University was granted an ISN Pioneer Award at the recent ISN North and East Asia Regional Workshop, held in conjunction with the Annual Conference of the Chinese Society of Nephrology (CSN) in Zhuhai,  China.

Aside from rewarding Prof. Shan-yan for his efforts in advancing nephrology group photo reg workshop asiaacross the region, the meeting successfully engaged some one hundred local nephrologists from China and across the region.

Chair of the ISN North and East Asia Regional Board Ming-hui Zhao, ISN Programs Chair John Feehally, ISN Executive Councilor Zhi-hong Liu and the President of the Chinese Society of Nephrology Xue-qing Yu led the introductions and presentations.

John Feehally joined ISN President Adeera Levin to introduce ISN and explain the regional board structure. ISN President-Elect David Harris spoke about the different ISN Programs activities and the existing partnership with the Asian-Pacific Society of Nephrology (APSN). Prof. Zhao summarized ISN Program activity in North and East Asia and Prof. Yu spoke about future partnershipSpeakers reg workshop asias between ISN, CSN and APSN.

Later, it was the turn of ISN Program participants to tell their stories about being involved in ISN Program activities. Dr. Ariun Togtokh from the Health Sciences University of Mongolia talked about how this institution’s nephrology program became a reality thanks to continuing ISN support from ISN Fellows, Sister Center Partnerships, Continuing Medical Education courses and Educational Ambassador visits.

During talks, ISN leaders emphasized the impressive growth of nephrology and the strength in major centers in China.  There was discussion on how ISN Programs, in partnership with Chinese nephrology leaders and CSN, can now support the development of nephrology in less advantaged parts of China.

Read 417 times

Last modified on Monday, 30 November 2015 16:35

Scroll to Top