Lillian Jean Kaplan International Prize for Advancement in the Understanding of Polycystic Kidney Disease [PKD]

International Society of Nephrology (ISN) and the PKD Foundation proudly announce
the winners of the inaugural Lillian Jean Kaplan International Prize for
Advancement in the Understanding of Polycystic Kidney Disease [PKD]

The Lillian Jean Kaplan International
Prize was established through the generosity of the family of Thomas and Dafna
Kaplan, in honor of Mr. Kaplan’s late mother Lillian Jean Kaplan who died of
the disease. It follows the dedication of the Lillian Jean Kaplan Renal Transplantation
Center at the University of Miami and comprises a valuable component of a broad
and integrated approach to address the needs of kidney patients generally, and
PKD sufferers specifically, from around the world. The prize, to be awarded
every other year after 2003, was created to stimulate interest in advancing
PKD research leading to new treatments and a cure for PKD.

Thanks to the outstanding generosity
of Mr. Kaplan, this year the full prize of $50,000 is being exceptionally awarded
twice in recognition of research carried out by two eminent nephrologists.

Jared J. Grantham,
University Distinguished Professor of the University of Kansas
Medical Center and Director of the Kidney Institute at the Center, Kansas City,
KS (USA) and Peter Harris, M.D., Professor of Biochemistry/Molecular
Biology and Medicine, Mayo Medical School and Consultant, Department of Medicine,
Division of Nephrology, Mayo Clinic. Rochester, MN (USA) were selected from
amongst eight nominees from around the globe.

The International Research Advisory
Committee, chaired by Dr. Nathan Levin of the Renal Research Institute in New
York and comprising two representatives of the ISN – Dr. John H. Dirks, Chair,
ISN COMGAN, Toronto (Canada) and Dr. Pierre Ronco of H?pital Tenon, Paris
(France) – and two representatives of the PKDF – Dr. Vicente Torres, and Dr.
Lisa Guay-Woodford, Chair and Vice-Chair respectively of the PDKF Scientific
Advisory Committee – were unanimous in their choice of winners for this prize.

Dr. Grantham was selected for his
major research contribution and particularly his outstanding leadership in polycystic
kidney disease and Dr. Harris for his original research in polycystic kidney
disease and specifically for the identification and complete cloning of the
PKD1 gene.

Dr. Grantham and Dr. Harris
will be honored during the official ISN Prize Ceremony & Presentations
to be held during the World Congress of Nephrology at 14.00 on Monday,
June 9 in Berlin
. In the presence of Dr. Robert C. Atkins, President
of ISN and Mr. Dan Larson, President and CEO of the PKD Foundation, Mr. Thomas
Kaplan will bestow each of them with their prize check.

This will be followed by
a thirty-minute presentation of the scientific findings from each of the prize
winners. Understanding Polycystic Kidney Disease: A Systems Biology
will be presented by Dr. Grantham whilst Dr. Harris will focus
on Understanding Polycystic Kidney Disease: A Genetic Approach.

13 May 2003.

Scroll to Top