Prof. Y.K Seedat receives ISN Pioneer Award Featured

Yackoob SeedatISN is happy to announce that Prof. Y.K. Seedat is the proud winner of an ISN Pioneer Award. ISN Educational Ambassador Program Chair Saraladevi Naicker presented him with the award at the recent South African Renal Society Congress on August 17, 2014.

ISN Pioneer Awards honor the ‘unsung heroes’ of nephrology. They reward doctors on a regional level who have carried out extraordinary efforts to advance nephrology in a specific country or region. Without their dedication, nephrology would have been far behind its current state in their country and region.
Seedat trained in Nephrology at the Royal Infirmary in Manchester and completed his MRCP in London and Doctorate in Medicine on renal tubular acidosis. He returned to South Africa and held various posts in medicine until he was appointed Professor and Head of Medicine of the University of Natal from 1979 to 1994. From 1995 to 2000 he was appointed Professor of Research. He is at present Emeritus Professor of Medicine at the University of KwaZulu Natal in Durban.

His research interests in nephrology are in glomerulonephritis, renal failure and dialysis. He has published about 400 articles in nephrology, hypertension and general medicine, 39 chapters in textbooks and delivered 145 lectures at international level and 210 lectures in national congresses. Read a full biography HERE.

To find out more about all the ISN Pioneer Award winners, CLICK HERE.

Read 1051 times

Last modified on Monday, 08 September 2014 08:47

Scroll to Top